Electronic Music Pioneers Cluster Announce the Release of 9 CD Box Set Cluster: 1971-1981

Cluster: 1971-1981 is the title of the upcoming 9 CD box set by German electronic music trailblazers Cluster. The 1500 copy collection is scheduled for release on April 15th, 2016.

Cluster had a tremendous influence on the development of electronic music. The original trio of Conrad Schnitzler, Hans-Joachim Roedelius, and Dieter Moebius released two iconic albums as Kluster before Roedelius and Moebius replaced the “K” with a “C” and continued as a duo. They produced eight albums in their most ground-breaking period between 1971 and 1981, two of them together with Brian Eno. Cluster anticipated much of what would later emerge in such varied styles as industrial, ambient, electro, and even synth pop.

The set includes collected reissues of all eight albums released by Cluster between 1971 and 1981, including their two collaborations with Brian Eno, as well as a previously unreleased album of two live recordings from 1972 and 1977.

All of the albums have been remastered by Willem Makkee. Cluster: 1971-1981 includes booklet with essays on each album, rare photos, and an exclusive text on the evolution and significance of the band by Asmus Tietchens.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *