Mabel Greer’s Toyshop’s The Secret

Mabel Greer’s Toyshop – The Secret (Mabel Greer’s Toyshop, 2017)

Mabel Greer’s Toyshop is a British rock band founded in 1966 that preceded progressive rock band Yes. Mabel Greer’s Toyshop was founded by guitarist Clive Bailey, drummer Robert Hagger (drums) and bassist Paul Rutledge. Chris Squire and Peter Banks later joined the band. Clive Bailey resurrected Mabel Greer’s Toyshop after the death of Peter Banks, initially as a tribute.

The Secret features founders Clive Bailey on vocals and guitars and Robert Hagger on drum s and percussion. They are joined by Hugo Barre on bass and backing vocals and Max Hunt on keyboards, guitars, and backing vocals.

The album is highly enjoyable although I wouldn’t go as far as calling it a fully progressive rock album. It contains well-constructed rock songs with psychedelic and classical influences featuring melancholic vocals by Clive Bailey, along with fine guitar lines and keyboard work, and classic rock drumming.

The final piece includes an unused guitar solo by the late Peter Banks.

Buy The Secret

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *