Tag Archives: Rick Wakeman

Rick Wakeman Plays Favorites on Piano

Rick Wakeman – Piano Portraits (Universal Music, 2017)

Rick Wakeman, the musician known as a pioneer and master of the electronic keyboards has released a solo piano album titled Piano Portraits. The new recording contains covers of well-known rock and pop classics, along with some classical pieces, one original song and a version of the progressive rock-era Yes song Wonderous Stories. Rick Wakeman was the keyboardist in several of Yes’ most iconic progressive rock albums.

The piano Wakeman used was a Steinway Model D concert grand piano. The British keyboardist transforms the well-known songs into classical music-infused instrumental pieces. There’s barely any trace of rock or jazz. It’s piano playing in its purest form.

The song selection includes Led Zeppelin’s ‘Stairway to Heaven’, David Bowie’s ‘Life on Mars’ and ‘Space Oddity’, the Beatle’s ‘Help’ and ‘Eleanor Rigby’ and several other popular songs.

Piano Portraits showcases the talent of Rick Wakeman as a virtuoso pianist and a masterful arranger.

Buy Piano Portraits in the Americas

Buy Piano Portraits in Europe

Keyboard Maestro Rick Wakeman to Release Five Albums

Rick Wakeman - Starmus 2015
Rick Wakeman – Starmus 2015

British progressive rock keyboardist Rick Wakeman will be releasing 5 new albums on the RRAW label through Gonzo MultiMedia in Summer/Fall 2016.

Best known for his work on some of the best progressive rock-era albums with Yes, as well as his memorable solo career, Rick Wakeman’s upcoming albums are “Starmus 2015”, “Phantom of the Opera”, “Gastank”, “Gospels” and “Rainbow Suite.”

Rick Wakeman, Brian Eno and Anathema to Perform at Starmus 2016 Festival

Starmus_2016

Rick Wakeman, Brian Eno, Hans Zimmer, Brian May, Orquesta Sinfónica de Tenerife and Anathema are scheduled to perform tomorrow July 1st at Starmus festival place in Tenerife (Canary Islands, Spain).

Starmus was born with the goal of making the most universal science and art accessible to the public. This year’s event, currently taking place in Tenerife, is a tribute to Stephen Hawking, with speakers including Brian May, Richard Dawkins, Alekséi Leónov, Col. Chris Hadfield, Neil deGrasse Tyson, Brian Cox, and nine Nobel Prize winners.

On Friday, July 1st, the festival is holding the Sonic Universe Concert between 16:30 – 23:00 (local time). Along with speeches and medal ceremonies, the concert features the previously mentioned artists.

More at www.starmus.com

Former Yes Members Reunite to Form Superband ARW

A new progressive rock superband called ARW will be touring this fall, ARW includes singer-songwriter and multi-instrumentalist Jon Anderson, guitarist Trevor Rabin and keyboardist Rick Wakeman. All three are formerly Yes musicians.

 

Jon Anderson
Jon Anderson

 

Trevor Rabin
Trevor Rabin

 

The band will perform new music and Yes classics. Yes is one of the most successful progressive rock groups of all time. In the 1970s, Yes included founder Jon Anderson and Rick Wakeman. Yes released progressive rock classics such as Fragile, Close to The Edge, Tales From Topographic Oceans, and Going For The One.

ARW will tour North America in October and November 2016, followed by the rest of the world in 2017.

The following are confirmed dates. Additional dates to be announced soon:
Tuesday, October 4 – Orlando, FL Hard Rock Live
Thursday, October 6 – Hollywood, FL Seminole Hard Rock Casino
Friday, October 7 – Clearwater, FL Ruth Eckerd Hall
Sunday, October 9 – Durham, NC Durham Performing Arts Ctr
Monday, October 10 – Atlanta, GA Fox Theatre
Saturday, October 15 – Glenside, PA Keswick Theatre
Sunday, October 16 – Glenside, PA Keswick Theatre
Wednesday, October 19 – Boston, MA Wang Theatre
Friday, October 21 – Wallingford, CT Toyota Oakdale Theatre
Saturday, October 22 – Huntington, NY The Paramount
Monday, October 24 – Montclair, NJ Wellmont Theater
Wednesday, October 26 – Red Bank, NJ Count Basie Theatre
Friday, October 28 – Atlantic City, NJ Borgata Event Center
Saturday, October 29 – Akron, OH Goodyear Theater at East End
Tuesday, November 1 – New York, NY Beacon Theatre
Wednesday, November 2 – Pittsburgh, PA Heinz Hall
Friday, November 4 New – Buffalo, MI Four Winds Casino
Saturday, November 5 – Chicago, IL Chicago Theatre
Monday, November 7 – Nashville, TN Schermerhorn Symphony Center
Wednesday, November 9 – St Louis, MO Fox Theatre
Friday, November 11 – New Orleans, LA Saenger Theatre
Saturday, November 12 – San Antonio, TX Majestic Theatre
Monday, November 14 – Austin, TX ACL at the Moody Theater
Wednesday, November 16 – Denver, CO Paramount Theatre
Thursday, November 17 – Salt Lake City, UT Capitol Theater
Saturday, November 19 – Las Vegas, NV The Pearl
Sunday, November 20 – Phoenix, AZ Celebrity Theatre
Tuesday, November 22 – Los Angeles, CA Orpheum
Friday, November 25 – San Francisco, CA Masonic